top of page
Rechercher

Centro Ceremonial Otomí, Mexico

Dernière mise à jour : 5 mars 2018

One of our mexicam friend took us for a day-trip tot the Centro Ceremonial Otomí - 90 minutes from CDMX.


What can you do at the Centro Ceremonial?

When my friend told me we should go to the Centro Ceremonial , I had no idea what it was. It's actually a site that aims to recreate Otomí ceremonies though written and archeological evidences, and it is quite impressive! For only 20 pesos per person, we walked around the recently (1980) renovated Otomí Ceremonial Center.

I read online that the site hosts ceremonies every first Sunday of the month to thank the universe. I didn't get to see a ceremony but I bet it's great!

If you speak spanish, you can find more info about the Centro Ceremonial on this website.



There isn't much signs or visitors' center explaining the purpose of the site or its architecture so I would advise to do some research before visting!  On my side, I enjoyed it as it's an unusual and interesting visit. It's also a great example of the countless places to see in Mexico that are off the typical tourist track.


FUN FACT:

The site was used for the movie Licence to Kill (James Bond) and the music video of the song Limbo from Daddy Yankee. You can easily recognize it on the video.



After our visit, we went to a great local restaurant: Finca La Venturosa.

They grow their own mushrooms and have all types of delicious mushroom based dishes! You can even ask to visit their mushroom farm. And it's quite cheap!



0 commentaire

Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page